Samurai Dave: The Roving Ronin Report

Rambling Narrative of Travels, Thoughts, and Embellishments

R.I.P. Japanese Horror Fan – Rodger Swan (1986-2010)

Some of you who don’t frequent Youtube may not be aware that a long time Japan Vlogger on Youtube, Rodger Swan, recently passed away suddenly. He put out a lot of videos of his experiences in Japan, first as Tokyo Swan then later as Iwate Swan when he accepted a job offer from JET to teach in Iwate Prefecture.

http://www.youtube.com/user/rodgerswan

His most popular series was his Japanese Horror movie reviews where he looked at the good, the bad, and the gory of Japanese horror cinema. If you like Japanese horror you should check out his work. This is the first video of his playlist where he reviewed the Ring series. He has a whopping 50 reviews!

January 29, 2010 - Posted by | death, Horror, iwate, Iwate Swan, japan, Japan Vlogger, japanese culture, Japanese Ghosts, Japanese Horror, Ringu, Rodger Swan, The Ring, tokyo, Tokyo Swan, tragedy, video, youtube | , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. I just heard the news, it is hard to believe that he passed away. He will be missed, RIP Rodger Swan

    Comment by Robert | February 1, 2010 | Reply

  2. Hi Dave…

    I believe I just saw your tribute video to Rodg on youtube, I found you on here so I thought I’d say hi *waves*

    Truth be told, I’ve only just been brave enough to watch the videos that keep popping up on my youtube and it’s been a week.

    I went to Keio with Rodg and am returning to Japan in about 6/7 weeks as an ALT… so thought I’d introduce myself while I came across you.

    If it *was* your video I saw (I think it was), your words were beautiful. Rodg would be touched and honoured, I’m sure.

    Jennie x

    Comment by jennieinjapan | February 3, 2010 | Reply

  3. This is truly heartbreaking. I don’t reply frequently to posts; however, I was searching for some Japanese horror that had been released recently and this just popped up. I’m deeply saddened –he was definitely the fan’s guide to J-Horror. Would turn to him when I was writing a blog related to the genre. He will be sorely missed.

    Comment by CW | October 5, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

